move&invest

Published 5 min read

Relocation

Countries with a retirement visa in 2026: six routes compared, from €920 a month to AED 240,000 a year

Six countries, six ways of letting a retiree in. Portugal asks €920 a month, Argentina about US$1,280, Cyprus €2,000, Greece €3,500 and Dubai AED 20,000, roughly US$5,450. Malta asks for a home and a minimum tax instead of an income, and changes the price on 1 January 2027. The tax on a foreign pension runs from nothing in the UAE to 5% in Cyprus, 7% in Greece, 15% in Malta, and the ordinary scale in Portugal and Argentina. Every figure here links to the page that reads it from the instrument.

Checked against PortugalGreeceMaltaCyprusUAEArgentina

Jurisdictions pt · gr · mt · cy · ae · ar

Contents

Lists of the best places to retire abroad rank countries by sunshine and coffee prices. This page does something narrower: it takes the six countries this site reads at source and sets out, for each, what a retiree from outside the EU must show to get in, what it costs, how long the permit lasts and what happens to the pension. Every row comes from a page on this site that quotes the instrument it rests on, read in August to October 2026, and each country links to that page.

What this page does not do is cover countries we have not read. Spain, Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama and Thailand are popular with retirees and absent here because we have not yet opened their law. A ranking that included them on somebody else's numbers would be the kind of page this site exists to correct.

Countries with a retirement visa: the income each one asks for

CountryRouteMoney test for one personIn US dollars
PortugalD7 residence visa€920 a month, the national minimum wageabout US$1,030
ArgentinaPensionado or rentistaFive minimum wages: 1,956,000 pesos a month in October 2026about US$1,280
CyprusVisitor's permit€2,000 a month, shown as transfers into a Cypriot accountabout US$2,240
GreeceIncome permit, type Ι.8 (FIP)€3,500 a monthabout US$3,920
UAE, DubaiRetirement visaAED 240,000 a year, or AED 1 million in property or on deposit; aged 55 with 15 years of workabout US$5,450 a month
MaltaGlobal Residence Programme, for non-EUNo income test; a home bought for €275,000 or rented for €9,600 a year, and €15,000 a year in minimum tax—

Euro figures are converted at the European Central Bank's rate of 1.1193 dollars on 23 October 2026, the peso at the Argentine central bank's 1,528.26 on the same day, and the dirham at its fixed peg of 3.6725.

Two of those numbers move on their own. Portugal's is indexed to the minimum wage, so it changes every January without any rule changing. Argentina's is five times a minimum wage that the government raises every month, while the peso moves against the dollar.

Retirement visa for a couple: how each country adds the second person

CountrySecond adultEach childCouple, per month
Portugal+50%+30%€1,380
ArgentinaNot stated per person since 2023Not statedAsk before relying on one income
Cyprus+20%+15%€2,400
Greece+20%+15%€4,200
UAESpouse can be sponsoredChildren can be sponsoredNo uplift published

Argentina is the odd one: the rule that required the income "by each applicant" was taken out of the disposition in October 2023, and Migraciones publishes nothing on how it now treats a spouse applying alongside.

Retirement visa cost and how long the permit lasts

CountryGovernment feesFirst permitThen
Portugal€110 for the visaTwo yearsThree-year renewals; permanent residence at five years
Greece€180 visa, €1,000 permit, €16 cardThree years€1,000 every three years
Cyprus€70 permit, €70 registrationOne year€70 every year, with a fresh bank statement
UAE, DubaiAbout AED 3,715 all inFive yearsRenewable on the same terms
Argentina100,000 pesos, about US$65One yearThe same fee at each renewal; permanent residence after three years
Malta€6,000 for the tax status, €100 for the permitStatus runs while the conditions holdNew rules from 1 January 2027

The cheapest permits to obtain are also the ones that must be won again most often. Cyprus and Argentina cost almost nothing and renew every year; Greece and the UAE cost more and leave you alone for three and five.

How each retirement visa country taxes a foreign pension

CountryTax on a foreign pensionThe condition that matters
UAENoneA home country may keep taxing you unless you hold the UAE tax residency certificate: 183 days, or 90 with a home or a job
Cyprus5% above €5,000, by election each yearOnly for residents, and a retiree on the visitor's permit is resident only at 183 days; below about €27,700 a year the ordinary scale is cheaper
Greece7% on all foreign income for fifteen yearsA separate application to the tax office by 31 March; not tax resident in Greece for five of the previous six years
Malta15% on income brought into Malta, minimum €15,000 a year under the GRPThe minimum means the real rate is higher below €100,000 a year remitted
PortugalThe ordinary rulesIFICI, the regime that replaced NHR, covers income from qualifying work, not pensions
ArgentinaThe ordinary rules, 5% to 35% on worldwide incomeYou become tax resident after twelve months on temporary permits

None of these is automatic with the permit. In every country above, the residence permit and the tax treatment are filed with different authorities and tested by different rules.

Retirement visa in Europe: Portugal, Greece, Cyprus or Malta

For a non-EU retiree choosing inside the EU, the four answer different questions.

  • On a modest pension, Portugal asks the least, €920 a month, and Cyprus the next least, €2,000. Cyprus taxes the pension at 5% only once you live there 183 days and only where that beats the scale.
  • On a large pension, Greece's 7% on everything earned abroad, fixed for fifteen years, is the strongest tax offer of the four, against a higher bar of €3,500 a month.
  • With capital rather than income, Malta's Global Residence Programme asks for a home and a minimum tax instead of an income test. On 1 January 2027 it is replaced: €700,000 to buy or €14,000 a year to rent, and €35,000 of minimum tax for non-EU global residents, or €15,000 under the new retired pensioner status. Applications received by 31 December 2026 keep the old terms to the end of 2031.

Retirement visa outside Europe: the UAE or Argentina

The two non-European routes sit at opposite ends. Dubai asks the most, AED 240,000 a year or AED 1 million, plus an age of 55 and fifteen years of work, and in return taxes nothing. Argentina asks the least of anyone after Portugal, about US$1,280 a month, and then taxes a resident's worldwide income at ordinary rates after a year. The Dubai figure is also the one on which official pages disagree: the issuing authority, GDRFA, says AED 240,000, while a Dubai investment portal still prints AED 180,000.

Frequently asked questions

Which countries have a retirement visa?

Of the countries this site reads at source: Portugal (the D7), Greece (the type Ι.8 income permit), Cyprus (the visitor's permit), the UAE (the retirement visa), Argentina (pensionado and rentista) and Malta (the Global Residence Programme for non-EU nationals, the Malta Retirement Programme for EU citizens). Only the UAE's is actually called a retirement visa.

Which country has the cheapest retirement visa?

By the income asked, Portugal: €920 a month for one person in 2026. Argentina follows at about US$1,280 a month in October 2026, and Cyprus at €2,000.

Which countries do not tax foreign pensions?

The UAE levies no personal income tax at all. Cyprus charges 5% above €5,000 and Greece 7%, both by election; Malta 15% on what is brought in, with a minimum.

What is the easiest retirement visa in Europe?

On the money asked, Portugal's D7 at €920 a month. On paperwork, Cyprus's visitor's permit is the lightest, but it lasts one year and must be renewed every year on a fresh bank statement.

Do I need to be a certain age for a retirement visa?

Only in the UAE, where the retirement visa requires 55 years of age and, in Dubai, 15 years of work. Portugal, Greece, Cyprus, Malta and Argentina set no age; they test income or assets.

Can I work on a retirement visa?

Not in Greece, where the Ι.8 permit bars any employed or self-employed activity, and not in Cyprus, where a visitor may carry out no economic activity. For the other four, the rule is set out on each country's page.

Each country's retirement visa, in full

Every figure on this page is traced to its instrument on the sources page.

If you are choosing where to retire

We do not sell property and we do not give legal or tax advice. What we do is put a person who knows what they are asking in front of a licensed adviser in the country they have chosen. If two countries on this page both fit, the question to bring is usually not which permit is cheaper, but which tax treatment your own pension gets in each, and what your home country does with it afterwards. Send it through the enquiry form. We take no part in the fee.

Sources: where each figure comes from

  • Portugal: Portaria 1563/2007, art. 2(2) and 13; Decreto-Lei 139/2025, art. 3; Lei 23/2007, arts. 58, 75 and 80; Portaria 91/2025/1; EBF art. 58-A; as recorded on our Portugal pages, September 2026.
  • Greece: Law 5038/2023, art. 163 §8; ministerial decisions 225679/2024 and 95391/2024; Law 4172/2013, art. 5B; read 25 October 2026.
  • Malta: S.L. 123.134, S.L. 123.148 and L.N. 195 of 2026; Identità, economic self-sufficiency permits; read 25 October 2026.
  • Cyprus: Migration Department, visitor permit and supporting documents; Income Tax Law 118(I)/2002, arts. 2 and 20 as amended by 244(I)/2025; read 25 October 2026.
  • UAE: GDRFA Dubai, retired foreigner residence permit; Visit Dubai, retirement visa application; Invest in Dubai; ICP; Cabinet Decision No. 85 of 2022; read 25 October 2026.
  • Argentina: Law 25.871, art. 23; Migraciones Dispositions 1732/2023 and 3446/2023; Resolution 4/2026; Decree 584/2024; Income Tax Law art. 116(b); read 25 October 2026.
  • Exchange rates: European Central Bank, 23 October 2026; Banco Central de la República Argentina, Communication A 3500, 23 October 2026; the dirham's peg of 3.6725.

Does any of this apply to your case?

A guide is research, not advice, and it cannot know your circumstances. Say what you are trying to do and we introduce you to one licensed firm in the jurisdiction concerned — free to you, and only if you tick the box.

Sent.

It is with us. The reply comes from a person and says which firm we think fits and why that one.

That did not go through.

An email address and the consent box are the two things we cannot do without. Everything else is optional.

That is on us.

The enquiry did not reach us — the fault is at our end. Write to office@moveandinvest.com and it will be picked up.

We are not lawyers and you pay us nothing. Your enquiry goes to one partner, not to a list. How we handle your data

The longer form, with budget and timing →

All guides and research