move&invest

Published 9 min read

Relocation

Retire in Cyprus: the visitor permit, €2,000 a month sent to Cyprus, and the 5% pension tax

Cyprus does not issue anything called a retirement visa. A retiree from outside the EU lives there on a visitor's temporary residence permit under Aliens and Immigration Regulation 14: €2,000 a month, or €24,000 a year, shown as transfers from abroad into a Cypriot bank account, plus 20% for a spouse and 15% for each child; a ten-year bank guarantee; Plan A health insurance; a lease or a title deed; and €70 a year. The 5% tax on foreign pensions is separate: since the 2026 reform it applies above €5,000, not €3,420, and it is optional each year — on a modest pension the ordinary scale is cheaper.

Checked against Cyprus

Jurisdictions cy

Contents

Cyprus is one of the cheapest places in the EU for a non-EU retiree to qualify for, and one of the most often described wrongly. There is no retirement visa. There is a one-year visitor's permit that renews every year, and a 5% tax rate on foreign pensions that has nothing to do with the permit, is claimed separately, and since 1 January 2026 starts at a different figure from the one most guides still print.

Everything below is taken from the documents that set it: the Migration Department's page on visitors and family members, posted 30 December 2025, and its supporting-documents list for the visitor permit, both read on 25 October 2026; and the Income Tax Law, Law 118(I)/2002, read the same day in its consolidated text as amended by Law 244(I)/2025. This page covers the Republic of Cyprus only. The north is a separate administration with its own rules, and nothing here applies to it.

Cyprus retirement visa: the permit is a visitor's permit

What a retiree from the United States, the United Kingdom or anywhere outside the EU needs is the visitor's temporary residence permit, issued under Aliens and Immigration Regulation 14 by the Migration Department of the Deputy Ministry of Migration and International Protection. The regulation grants it to a third-country national entering Cyprus "for short or long-term holidays", for touring, or for "investigating the possibility of residing in the Republic".

The same regulation sets its one hard limit: holders "cannot carry out an economic activity in the Republic". That is why it suits retirement and almost nothing else.

Citizens of the EU, the EEA and Switzerland do not need it. They live in Cyprus under free movement and register with the same department through a separate procedure, which this page does not cover.

Cyprus retirement visa requirements: €2,000 a month, proved by transfers

The income test is in the department's supporting-documents list, and it is stricter than "proof of income". The applicant shows a statement of a bank account in Cyprus, for the last twelve months at renewal or from the date the account was opened for a first permit, with foreign remittances in his own name of at least €2,000 a month or €24,000 a year for one person. The amount "increases by 20% for the spouse and by 15% for each child".

HouseholdUpliftPer monthPer year
One personDash€2,000€24,000
Couple20%€2,400€28,800
Couple and one child20% + 15%€2,700€32,400
Couple and two children20% + 30%€3,000€36,000

Three details decide whether a file passes:

  • The money must arrive from abroad. Accepted sources are a salary, pension, deposits held abroad, rents, dividends and interest, all from outside Cyprus, with narrow exceptions for dividends or rent inside Cyprus.
  • Transfers out do not count. The list says transfers "abroad or to third parties will not be taken into account" when the amount is calculated.
  • A first permit can rest on a lump sum. "During the first permit, a cash transfer or deposit of at least €10,000 is also accepted"; cash needs the customs declaration. At every renewal the account balance must be at least €6,000, "which corresponds to three months' income, regardless of the size of the family".

The statement goes in with two declarations from the same page: the number of family members the applicant will support, and a summarised statement of income.

Cyprus visitor permit documents: guarantee, insurance, medical tests

The rest of the list:

  • passport valid for at least three months from the application, and the page with the last entry and visa;
  • criminal record certificate from the country of origin or residence, translated into Greek or English, for the first permit only;
  • medical certificate of blood tests for hepatitis B and C, HIV and syphilis, and a chest X-ray for tuberculosis, stamped by a specialist doctor in Cyprus, for the first permit only;
  • an original letter of guarantee from a bank in Cyprus, for ten years, in the applicant's name and from his own account, "to cover possible repatriation expenses". "The amount depends on the country of origin", and the list does not state it;
  • health insurance, Plan A, covering inpatient and outpatient care and repatriation of remains;
  • a title deed or purchase contract deposited with the Land Registry, or a lease, stamped where applicable, or a host's declaration of suitable accommodation.

Cyprus visitor permit cost and how long it lasts

ItemAmount
Issue or renewal of the permit€70
First registration in the Aliens' Register€70

The application is form MVIS8. The department's page says entry is with a visa issued by a Cypriot consulate and a valid travel document, and the application must be filed before that visa expires. Examination takes "usually before the completion of four (4) months" if the file is complete. Photographs and fingerprints are taken in person.

The first permit runs one year, or ends three months before the passport does if that comes first. It renews for a year at a time while the criteria are met. There is no multi-year visitor permit for a retiree, so the bank statement, the insurance and the €70 come round every twelve months.

Cyprus 5% tax on foreign pensions: article 20, from €5,000

The permit says nothing about tax. The pension rate is in article 20 of the Income Tax Law, as amended by Law 244(I)/2025:

The income of a Cyprus tax resident "from a pension for services rendered outside the Republic" that exceeds €5,000 is taxed at 5%. It is not added to any other income. And the resident "may for each tax year elect" to be taxed either under article 20 or under the ordinary rules.

Two things in that text matter more than the rate.

The threshold is €5,000, not €3,420. The figure that most pages still print was the threshold before the 2026 reform. Under the current text the first €5,000 of a foreign pension is outside the 5%.

The election is annual, and 5% is not always cheaper. The ordinary scale, as amended by the same law, charges 0% up to €22,000 and 20% from €22,000 to €32,000. On the scale alone, before any deductions:

Foreign pension a yearArticle 20, 5% above €5,000Ordinary scaleCheaper
€24,000€950€400Ordinary scale
€28,000€1,150€1,200About equal
€32,000€1,350€2,000Article 20
€42,000€1,850€4,500Article 20

The crossover sits at about €27,700 a year. A retiree living on the minimum the visitor permit asks for, €24,000, pays less on the ordinary scale, and the law lets him choose it. Above about €28,000 the 5% wins, and by more the higher the pension.

Do retirees become tax resident in Cyprus? Usually by the 183-day rule

The 5% is for residents, so residence decides whether it applies at all. Article 2 of the Income Tax Law gives two routes. One is spending more than 183 days in Cyprus in the tax year. The other, the 60-day rule, needs at least 60 days in Cyprus, no more than 183 days in any other single state, a permanent home in Cyprus, and — cumulatively — carrying on a business, being employed or holding an office in Cyprus.

That last condition is the catch. A visitor-permit holder is barred from economic activity, so for most retirees the 60-day route is closed and the 183-day rule is the one that makes them resident. Spend fewer than 183 days in Cyprus and you hold a residence permit without being a Cypriot tax resident, and article 20 does not apply to you.

A resident who is not domiciled in Cyprus also pays no special defence contribution on foreign dividends and interest. How that interacts with a particular pension or portfolio is a question for a tax adviser in Cyprus, not this page.

How much money do you need to retire in Cyprus?

The permit's floor is €24,000 a year for one person, €28,800 for a couple. On top of that come the fixed costs of the route itself: Plan A insurance every year, the bank guarantee held for ten years, and €70 at each renewal. For a couple, the permit test is less than the €42,000 a year Greece asks of one person, and Cyprus asks for no investment at all.

Cyprus visitor permit or permanent residence: which suits a retiree

Visitor permit, Regulation 14Permanent residence, Regulation 6(2)
Money required€24,000 a year in transfers from abroad€300,000 plus VAT, usually in a new home, and €50,000 a year in income
Term1 year, renewed annuallyPermanent
Work in CyprusNot allowedNot allowed, except as a director of the company invested in
Fee€70 a year€500 at application

The visitor permit costs a retiree almost nothing and ties up nothing, but it has to be won again every year on a fresh bank statement. The permanent permit ends the annual renewal and is how a buyer who wants the house anyway settles the question for good. What the permanent route costs in full, with VAT and fees, is in the cost calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Does Cyprus have a retirement visa?

No. Retirees from outside the EU use the visitor's temporary residence permit under Aliens and Immigration Regulation 14. It lasts one year, renews annually, and does not allow any economic activity in Cyprus.

How much income do you need to retire in Cyprus?

€2,000 a month or €24,000 a year for one person, plus 20% for a spouse and 15% for each child: €2,400 a month for a couple. It is proved by foreign transfers into a Cypriot bank account over the last twelve months.

Can I use savings instead of a pension for the Cyprus visitor permit?

For the first permit, yes: a transfer or deposit of at least €10,000 is accepted. At every renewal the bank statement must show the monthly foreign remittances, and a balance of at least €6,000.

How much does the Cyprus visitor permit cost?

€70 for each issue or renewal, and €70 for first registration in the Aliens' Register. Health insurance and the ten-year bank guarantee are extra; the guarantee's amount depends on your country of origin.

Is my pension taxed at 5% in Cyprus?

Only if you are a Cyprus tax resident, and only on the part of a foreign pension above €5,000 under article 20 of the Income Tax Law as amended in 2025. You can choose each year between the 5% and the ordinary scale, and on a pension below about €27,700 the ordinary scale is cheaper.

How many days do I need to spend in Cyprus to be tax resident?

More than 183 days in the tax year, for most retirees. The 60-day rule also requires a business, employment or office in Cyprus, which a visitor-permit holder may not have.

Do I need health insurance to retire in Cyprus?

Yes. The visitor permit requires Plan A health insurance covering inpatient and outpatient care and repatriation, at the first permit and every renewal.

Can my spouse come with me on the visitor permit?

Yes, as a dependent spouse visitor with a permit of their own. The income requirement rises by 20%, and the spouse's permit runs no longer than yours.

Where this sits in the rest of the site

What the permanent investor route costs in Cyprus against the other countries is in the cost calculator. How long each country takes to citizenship, and what counts towards it, is in the naturalisation clock. Every figure on this page is traced to its instrument on the sources page. How this route compares with five other countries, on income, cost, term and pension tax, is in countries with a retirement visa.

If Cyprus is where you plan to retire

We do not sell property and we do not give legal or tax advice. What we do is put a person who knows what they are asking in front of a licensed adviser in Cyprus. The questions that decide this route are rarely the €2,000. They are whether your pension arrives in Cyprus in a form the department will count, what bank guarantee your nationality is asked for, and whether you will spend the 183 days that make the 5% available. Send them through the enquiry form. We take no part in the fee.

Sources: where each figure comes from

  • The permit, its purpose, the ban on economic activity, form MVIS8, the €70 fees, the four-month examination and the one-year term: Migration Department, "Visitors and family members", posted 30 December 2025, read 25 October 2026.
  • The €2,000 a month, the 20% and 15% uplifts, the foreign-remittance rule, the €10,000 first-permit deposit, the €6,000 renewal balance, the bank guarantee, Plan A insurance, the medical certificate and the accommodation documents: Migration Department, "Supporting documents — visitor permit", from the visitors' forms page posted 29 December 2025, read 25 October 2026.
  • The 5% rate above €5,000 and the annual election: Income Tax Law 118(I)/2002, article 20, as amended by Law 244(I)/2025; the 183-day and 60-day rules: article 2; the ordinary scale: as recorded in our Cyprus verification file of 22 October 2026. Consolidated text on cylaw.org, read 25 October 2026.
  • The permanent residence criteria under Regulation 6(2): Migration Department, "Immigration Permits for Investors", fourth revision in force from 2 May 2023, as recorded in our Cyprus verification file.
  • Not published here: the amount of the bank guarantee for any nationality, which the department does not state; whether years on a visitor permit count towards Cypriot citizenship; and how the UK–Cyprus or US–Cyprus tax treaties treat a particular pension.

Does any of this apply to your case?

A guide is research, not advice, and it cannot know your circumstances. Say what you are trying to do and we introduce you to one licensed firm in the jurisdiction concerned — free to you, and only if you tick the box.

Sent.

It is with us. The reply comes from a person and says which firm we think fits and why that one.

That did not go through.

An email address and the consent box are the two things we cannot do without. Everything else is optional.

That is on us.

The enquiry did not reach us — the fault is at our end. Write to office@moveandinvest.com and it will be picked up.

Sent as an enquiry about cy. We are not lawyers and you pay us nothing. Your enquiry goes to one partner, not to a list. How we handle your data

The longer form, with budget and timing →

All guides and research